DSC01391w

It was on 23 Agustus 2009 that I started my wordpress blog.

Lani Ratulangi in front of her father's picture (Aug '09)

I have actually started making websites eve r since December 1996 (that’s way back in the “only html” time). NOW things are much easier, and enjoyable! I am a retired petrochemical consultant and a computer (internet) hobbyist.

Most of my blogs will relate to my late father: SAM RATU LANGIE  and late mother: MARIA RATULANGIE-TAMBAJONG. They were more interesting personalities than I am. But still I will have a category of my own, in which I will write those silly things that just flashes through my mind.

I will also occasionally make use of the Indonesian language, my mother tongue, and I will try to minimize the use of the (fastly developing) Jakarta slang.

samratul14
Seated centrally with other female extended family members is my mother  1949 in front of the house where my father was born in 1890 at Tondano.

Since I am an oldy I actually have a lot of stories to tell. I will also add Indonesian folks tales to my blog. Those tales, told by others (with references) I have translated into English because I know that there are many people who appreciate folks tales. They do, like I do, indeed show a lot about the character of the people involved. But NO! I am not an expert in this field I am only INTERESTED in this field.

My house in Jakarta
The living room

I have two “HOMES”: the first is in Jakarta. Here I live in Pondok Indah (South Jakarta) with a son and his wife and their three (mostly enjoyable)  kids.
My eldest son lives (officially) in Depok, which is the town close to Jakarta where he has a lovely appartment close to the Universitas Indonesia.
Another son is now in Toronto, Canada, working at Alcatel-Lucent.
But I have another HOME in Manado you may see it when you click here.

OR if you want to have a look into my “BLOGGERS’s CHAOS” , just give it a click.

Anyway I thank God that He kept me in a relative healthy condition, as is also my dear husband of more than 50 (yes, fifty) years

Jakarta, 16 September 2013

From LANI